An Obvious Question.

This morning, I asked a friend of mine if she’s going to basketball training. She looked at me funny and said, “No,” and gave out a sharp laugh. She was obviously wearing her sports attire, I saw that.

What I was trying to do was not to ask a stupidly obvious question and be one of those oblivious people who doesn’t know anything. What I was trying to do was make small talk. Besides, she would sometimes go for a jog even though she doesn’t have training. That was why I was asking.

Her annoyed, sarcastic answer kind of hurt me. Is it so hard to make normal conversations nowadays? 

Being sarcastic is okay if you know when and how to use it. But it is not a good form of conversation as it can lead to misunderstandings.

I don’t know. Maybe my friend was just trying to be funny. Or maybe she was just plain annoyed with me. But I know that sensitive, lonely people like me yearn for even the smallest, normal of talks.

Hence, a word of advice. If you feel like being sarcastic, try thinking about others first.

Leave a Reply

